International Thespian Society Induction Ceremony

On Wednesday, October 16 the High School Drama Department inducted 19 members into the Second King’s High School International Thespian Society.  This troup was created with a desire for students to enrich their theatre education experience beyond the classroom.

One Senior along with eighteen juniors were inducted. Adam Kennelly, Jackson Murphy, Duncan Anguili, Lachlan McGregor, Diego Laible, Reya Custis, Sarah Chu, Dalton Schwab, Marin Hawley, Addie Siers, Madison Taylor, Lucy Gunning, Ella Hamilton, Isaiah Bullock, Audrey Ruhlman, Kate Selby, Daniel Mercado, Samuel Hutmacher, and Emelyn Lara.

Theatre students were selected based on their contribution of more than 100 hours of excellent work in theatre at King’s Schools. The drama department has provided a quality theatre arts education with creativity, self-confidence, communication, and interpersonal skills, along with “specific THEATRE” skills.  Directed by Janna McCardle who will be the Troupe’s Director, McCardle has been leading high school drama at King’s Schools for the past 11 years.

The International Thespian Society was established in 1929 and is a division of the EdTA (Educational Theatre Association) which is a national non-profit organization with approximately 100,000 students and professionals.  Students are honored at a national level with opportunities to participate in ITS State and National events including the International Thespian Festival with workshops, college, and scholarship auditions, as well as opportunities to showcase and receive an assessment on tech and performance skills.

While friends and family members applauded, the celebration ceremony for the newly added members ended with the motto: “Act well your part; there all the honor lies.” (Alexander Pope’s ‘Essay on Man)

For more information on the International Thespian Society and the High School Drama Department, please contact Janna McCardle or Mary Hudon.